khao piak sen

I don’t really know how to write the name of this Lao noodle soup correctly but we call it “khao piak sen”. Literally translated, it means something like “wet rice stripes “. XD

It is a noodlesoup made from a chicken broth and thick udon-like, chewy noodles consisting of tapioca and rice flour. It is a simple dish, great for cold days.

khao piak sen

I have to admit, this dish is not my favorite. Last time my sister and me went home, my mom made them since my sister was craving for them. As a yummy alternative, we also made ramen-like noodles which can be eaten with chicken broth, too. Or with a soy sauce and dark Chinese rice vinegar mixture – my favorite.

mie

I ate this for two days straight! 🙂

Leave a Reply

