o-ren ishiii

Besides cooking at home, my sister and me were also eating out. For example, we went to a modern Vietnamese restaurant which is owned by two sisters (could be my sister and me if we would be living in same city). They keep the menu small (approx. 5 dishes) and vary it daily (I think). I like that they also keep the serving amount limited. We went there in the late afternoon and three dishes were already out. On one hand, it’s too bad that you can’t try those dishes anymore but on the other hand, there is less leftovers and waste of food.

I had a spicy Vietnamese papaya salad with deep-fried fish on rice, my sister had curry-lemongrass-chicken with peanuts on rice. Both dishes were really tasty. The papaya salad tasted different from the Lao-style papaya (or carrot) salad we make at home but it was also good!

Leave a Reply

